Search

Table of Contents

delete_sites

What is the delete_sites permission in WordPress?

The delete_sites permission allows users to remove sites from a WordPress multisite network.

The delete_sites permission can't be used without the manage_network permission and the manage_sites permission. If a user has all three of these capabilities, they will be able to go to this link:

  • My Sites > Network Admin > Sites.
Sites Link
Sites Link

On this screen, the user can click “delete” and remove a site from the network:

Screen Shot 2020 10 15 At 11.56.39 Am
Screen Shot 2020 10 15 At 11.56.39 Am

Who has the delete_sites permission?

The delete_sites permission is available only on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_sites permission is only given to Super Admins.

Users not in the Super Admin role are not allowed to remove sites from a network.


Control who has the delete_sites permission

You can control who has the delete_sites permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your admin menu.
  • Choose the role you want to edit in “Select Role to View / Edit”.
  • Enter “delete_sites” into the “Add Capability” box.
  • Click “Add to role”.
Delete Sites
Delete Sites
  • Check or uncheck the “delete sites” box in the “Additional Capabilities” area.
Delete Sites Box
Delete Sites Box

All multisite permissions in WordPress

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress