What is the delete_posts permission in WordPress?
The delete_posts permission allows users to delete Posts written by any WordPress user.
If users have the delete_posts permission, they will see the red “Trash” link under Posts written by any user. This includes Posts where they are the author and also Posts where another user is the author.
Users with the delete_posts permission will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing Posts:
Who has the delete_posts permission?
The delete_posts permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
How to control who has the delete_posts permission
You can control who has the delete_posts permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
- After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
- Choose the role you want to edit from the “Select Role to View / Edit” box.
- Check or uncheck the box in the “Posts” row of the “Delete” column.