Search

Table of Contents

delete_published_pages

You are here:

What is the delete_published_pages permission in WordPress?

The delete_published_pages permission allows users to delete Pages in the Publish / Published status.

If users have the delete_published_pages permission, they will see the red “Trash” link under Pages in the Publish / Published status.

Trash Post
Trash Post

If users do NOT have the delete_published_pages permission, they will not be able to send a Page to the Trash, even if they have the delete_pages permission. This screenshot below shows a Published Page and a Pending Review Page. Only the Pending Review Page has a “Trash” button available.

Published Page Vs Pending 1
Published Page Vs Pending 1

Users with the delete_published_pages permission will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing Pages. Users who do not have the delete_published_pages permission will not see this button.

Move Trash Page
Move Trash Page

Who has the delete_published_pages permission?

The delete_published_pages permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_published_pages permission is given to Super Admins, Administrators, and Editors.

Subscribers and Contributors can not delete published Pages.


How to control who has the delete_published_pages permission

You can control who has the delete_published_pages permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
  • Choose the role you want to edit from the “Select Role to View / Edit” box.
  • Check or uncheck the box in the “Pages” row of the “Delete published” column.
Delete Published Pages
Delete Published Pages

All the WordPress permissions for Pages

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress