What is the delete_others_posts permission in WordPress?
The delete_others_posts permission allows you to delete Posts that are written by other authors.
If you have the delete_others_posts permission, you will see the red “Trash” link under Posts written by other users.
If you have the delete_others_posts permission, you will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing Posts written by other users:
Who has the delete_others_posts permission?
The delete_others_posts permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
By default, the delete_others_posts permission is only given to Super Admins, Administrators and Editors.
Users not in these roles are not allowed to delete Posts written by other users.
How to control who has the delete_others_posts permission
You can control who has the delete_others_posts permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
- After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Check or uncheck the box in the “Posts” row of the “Delete others” column.