Search

Table of Contents

manage_network_options

You are here:

What is the manage_network_options permission in WordPress?

The manage_network_options permission allows users to change key settings for a WordPress multisite network.

The delete_sites permission can't be used without the manage_network permission. If a user has both capabilities, they will be able to go to this link:

  • My Sites > Network Admin > Sites.
  • The user can now see the “Settings” menu with sub-menus for “Network Settings” and “Network Setup”.
Network Settitngs
Network Settitngs

On these screens, the user can change the settings for the multisite network. This screenshot shows the “Network Settings” screen:

Multisite Setting
Multisite Setting

This screenshot shows the “Network Setup” screen:

Network Setup
Network Setup

Who has the manage_network_options permission?

The manage_network_options permission is available only on multisite networks.

By default, the manage_network_options permission is only given to Super Admins.

Users not in the Super Admin role are not allowed to change key settings for a WordPress multisite network.


Control who has the manage_network_options permission

You can control who has the manage_network_options permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your admin menu.
  • Choose the role you want to edit in “Select Role to View / Edit”.
  • Enter “manage_network_options” into the “Add Capability” box.
  • Click “Add to role”.
Manage Network Options Add
Manage Network Options Add
  • Check or uncheck the “manage network options” box in the “Additional Capabilities” area.
Manage Network Options Box
Manage Network Options Box

All multisite permissions in WordPress

What is the delete_sites permission in WordPress?

The delete_sites permission allows users to remove sites from a WordPress multisite network.

The delete_sites permission can't be used without the manage_network permission and the manage_sites permission. If a user has all three of these capabilities, they will be able to go to this link:

  • My Sites > Network Admin > Sites.
Sites Link
Sites Link

On this screen, the user can click “delete” and remove a site from the network:

Screen Shot 2020 10 15 At 11.56.39 Am
Screen Shot 2020 10 15 At 11.56.39 Am

Who has the delete_sites permission?

The delete_sites permission is available only on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_sites permission is only given to Super Admins.

Users not in the Super Admin role are not allowed to remove sites from a network.


Control who has the delete_sites permission

You can control who has the delete_sites permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your admin menu.
  • Choose the role you want to edit in “Select Role to View / Edit”.
  • Enter “create_sites” into the “Add Capability” box.
  • Click “Add to role”.
Delete Sites
Delete Sites
  • Check or uncheck the “create sites” box in the “Additional Capabilities” area.
Delete Sites Box
Delete Sites Box

All multisite permissions in WordPress

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress