What is the delete_pages permission in WordPress?
The delete_pages permission allows users to delete Pages written by any WordPress user.
If users have the delete_pages permission, they will see the red “Trash” link under Pages written by any user. This includes Pages where they are the author and also Pages where another user is the author.
Users with the delete_pages permission will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing Pages:
Who has the delete_pages permission?
The delete_pages permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
How to control who has the delete_pages permission
You can control who has the delete_pages permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
- After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
- Choose the role you want to edit from the “Select Role to View / Edit” box.
- Check or uncheck the box in the “Page” row of the “Delete” column.