What is the remove_users permission in WordPress?
The remove_users permission is almost identical to the delete_users permission except it has some extra multisite functionality.
Please read the delete_users article for details on how this works for single sites.
The only difference between the two permissions is on a multisite network:
- delete_users applies to the whole network and allow Super Admins to delete users from all sites.
- remove_users applies to single sites in the networks and allows Administrators to remove users from that site only.
This screenshot shows how users are deleted from a multisite network, using the delete_users permission. Notice that the word used is “Delete”:
This screenshot shows how users are removed from a single network site, using the remove_users permission. Notice that the word used is “Remove”:
Who has the remove_users permission?
The remove_users permission is available on single WordPress sites that are part of a multisite network.
By default, the remove_users permission is only given to Super Users, and Administrators.
Users not in these roles are not allowed to remove user accounts on a WordPress site.
How can you control who has the remove_users permission?
You can control who has the remove_users permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
- After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
- Choose the role you want to edit in the “Select Role to View / Edit” box.
- Check or uncheck the “remove users” box in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area.