Search

Table of Contents

delete_published_posts

You are here:

What is the delete_published_posts permission in WordPress?

The delete_published_posts permission allows users to delete Posts in the Publish / Published status.

If users have the delete_published_posts permission, they will see the red “Trash” link under Posts in the Publish / Published status.

Trash Post
Trash Post

If users do NOT have the delete_published_posts permission, they will not be able to send a Post to the Trash, even if they have the delete_posts permission. This screenshot below shows a Published post and a Pending Review post. Only the Pending Review post has a “Trash” button available.

Delete Published Vs Pending 1
Delete Published Vs Pending 1

Users with the delete_published_posts permission will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing Posts. Users who do not have the delete_published_posts permission will not see this button.


Who has the delete_published_posts permission?

The delete_published_posts permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_published_posts permission is given to Super Admins, Administrators, and Editors.

Subscribers and Contributors can not delete published Posts.


How to control who has the delete_published_posts permission

You can control who has the delete_published_posts permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
  • Choose the role you want to edit from the “Select Role to View / Edit” box.
  • Check or uncheck the box in the “Posts” row of the “Delete published” column.
Delete Published Posts
Delete Published Posts

All the WordPress permissions for Posts

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress