What is the delete_private_posts permission in WordPress?
The delete_private_posts permission allows users to delete Posts written by any WordPress user, if they are in the Private status.
If users have the delete_private_posts permission, they will see the red “Trash” link under Posts in the Private status. This includes Posts where they are the author and also Posts where another user is the author.
Users with the delete_private_posts permission will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing private Posts:
Who has the delete_private_posts permission?
The delete_private_posts permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
By default, the delete_private_posts permission is given to Super Admins, Administrators, and Editors.
How to control who has the delete_private_posts permission
You can control who has the delete_private_posts permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
- After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Check or uncheck the box in the “Posts” row of the “Delete private” column.