Search

Table of Contents

update_plugins

You are here:

What is the update_plugins permission in WordPress?

The update_plugins permission allows update WordPress plugins to a more recent release.

The update_plugins permission gives access to the Dashboard > Updates menu link. A user with this permission will also see a red update icon in the left menu and a grey icon in the top menu.

Users with the update_plugins permission will be able to see select plugins and click the “Update Plugins” button:

If the user has the activate_plugins permission, they will also be able to update plugins via the “Plugins” link shown below.


Who has the update_plugins permission?

The update_plugins permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the update_plugins permission is only given to Super Admins, and Administrators.

Users not in these roles are not allowed to update plugins.


How can you control who has the update_plugins permission?

You can control who has the update_plugins permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • Install the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
  • Go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
  • Choose the role you want to edit in the “Select Role to View / Edit” box.
  • Check or uncheck the “activate plugins” and “update plugins” boxes in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area.

All plugin permissions in WordPress

All update permissions in WordPress

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress