delete_users

What is the delete_users permission in WordPress?

The delete_users permission allows you to delete other user accounts in WordPress.

However, the delete_users permission can not be used by itself. Before you can delete users, you also need the list_users permission. With both of those permissions, you can go to the Users > All Users screen and use the “Delete” button.

However, there is a heirarchy of users in WordPress. Even with the delete_users permission you can not delete users with more permissions that you. This is the WordPress heirarchy:


Who has the delete_users permission?

By default, the delete_users permission is only given to Super Admins and Administrators.

Users not in these roles are not allowed to delete users.


How can you control who has the delete_users permission?

You can control who has the delete_users permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
  • Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
  • Check or uncheck the “delete users” box in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area:

All the WordPress user permissions

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress

  • SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER
  • SEARCH THIS SITE