Search

Table of Contents

manage_network_users

You are here:

What is the manage_network_users permission in WordPress?

The manage_network_users permission allows users to edit other users' accounts on a WordPress multisite network.

The manage_network_users permission can't be used without the manage_network permission. If a user has both capabilities, they will be able to go to this link:

  • My Sites > Network Admin > Sites.
  • The user can now see the “Users” menu.
Manage Network Users Link
Manage Network Users Link

On the “Users” screens, the user can edit any user account on the network, except for Super Admins. To edit the account, click the “Edit” link under a username.

Manage Network Users List
Manage Network Users List

Who has the manage_network_users permission?

The manage_network_users permission is available only on multisite networks.

By default, the manage_network_users permission is only given to Super Admins.

Users not in the Super Admin role are not allowed to manage other users on a multisite network.


Control who has the manage_network_users permission

You can control who has the manage_network_users permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

  • After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your admin menu.
  • Choose the role you want to edit in “Select Role to View / Edit”.
  • Enter “manage_network_users” into the “Add Capability” box.
  • Click “Add to role”.
Manage Network Users
Manage Network Users
  • Check or uncheck the “manage network users” box in the “Additional Capabilities” area.
Manage Network Users Box
Manage Network Users Box

All the Multisite capabilities in WordPress

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress