What is the delete_others_pages permission in WordPress?
The delete_others_pages permission allows users to delete Pages written by other WordPress users.
If users have the delete_others_pages permission, they will see the red “Trash” link under Pages written by any other user.
However, if a user does NOT have the delete_others_pages permission, this “Trash” link will be missing for pages written by other users. You can see an example in the screenshot below:
Users with the delete_others_pages permission will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing Pages. Users without the delete_others_pages permission will NOT see this button, even if they can edit the Page.
Who has the delete_others_pages permission?
The delete_others_pages permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
How to control who has the delete_others_pages permission
You can control who has the delete_others_pages permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
- After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Check or uncheck the box in the “Pages” row of the “Delete others” column.