What is the list_users permission in WordPress?
The list_users permission controls access to the “Users” menu in the WordPress admin area.
This screenshot shows what a user will see if they only have the read permission and the list_users permission:
People with the list_users permission will be able to edit their own account, but they will not be able to edit anyone else's account. This screenshot shows that the only action they have available for other users is “View”. Actions such as “Edit” and “Delete” are not available.
Who has the list_users permission?
The list_users permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
Users not in these roles are not allowed to view the list of users on a WordPress site.
How can you control who has the list_users permission?
You can control who has the list_users permission by installing the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.
- After installing PublishPress Capabilities, go to “Capabilities” in your admin menu.
- Choose the role you want to edit in the “Select Role to View / Edit” box.
- Check or uncheck the “list users” box in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area.