---
title: delete_sites
description: "## What is the delete_sites permission in WordPress? The delete_sites permission allows users to remove sites from a WordPress multisite network. The delete_sites permission can't be used without the [manage_network](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_network/)permission and the [manage_sites](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_sites/) permission. If a user has all three…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_sites/"
updated: "2026-10-14"
category: WordPress Permissions / Multisite Permissions
---

# delete_sites

## What is the delete_sites permission in WordPress?

The delete_sites permission allows users to remove sites from a WordPress multisite network.

The delete_sites permission can't be used without the [manage_network](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_network/)permission and the [manage_sites](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_sites/) permission. If a user has all three of these capabilities, they will be able to go to this link:

- My Sites > Network Admin > Sites.

![Sites Link](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/sites-link.png)
Sites Link

On this screen, the user can click "delete" and remove a site from the network:

![Screen Shot 2020 10 15 At 11.56.39 Am](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/Screen-Shot-2020-10-15-at-11.56.39-AM-1024x552.png)
Screen Shot 2020 10 15 At 11.56.39 Am

---

## Who has the delete_sites permission?

The delete_sites permission is available only on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_sites permission is only given to [Super Admins](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin).

Users not in the [Super Admin](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin) role are not allowed to remove sites from a network.

---

## Control who has the delete_sites permission

You can control who has the delete_sites permission by installing the [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) plugin.

- After installing [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities), go to "Capabilities" in your admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Enter "delete_sites" into the "Add Capability" box.
- Click "Add to role".

![Delete Sites](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/delete-sites.png)
Delete Sites

- Check or uncheck the "delete sites" box in the "Additional Capabilities" area.

![Delete Sites Box](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/delete-sites-box-1024x144.png)
Delete Sites Box

---

## All multisite permissions in WordPress

1. [create_sites](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/create_sites/)
2. [delete_sites](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_sites/)
3. upload_themes
4. upload_plugins
5. [manage_network](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_network/)
6. [manage_network_options](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_network_options/)
7. [manage_network_plugins](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_network_plugins/)
8. [manage_network_themes](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_network_themes/)
9. [manage_network_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_network_users/)
10. [manage_sites](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_sites/)
11. [upgrade_network](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/upgrade_network/)
