What is the list_users permission in WordPress?
The list_users permission controls access to the “Users” menu in the WordPress admin area.
People with the list_users permission will be able to edit their own account, but they will not be able to edit anyone else’s account. This screenshot shows that the only action they have available for other users is “View”. Actions such as “Edit” and “Delete” are not available.
Who has the list_users permission?
The list_users permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
By default, the list_users permission is only given to Super Users, and Administrators.
Users not in these roles are not allowed to view the list of users on a WordPress site.
How can you control who has the list_users permission?
You can control who has the list_users permission by installing the Capability Manager Enhanced plugin.
- After installing Capability Manager Enhanced, go to Users > Capabilities.
- Check or uncheck the “list users” box in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area.