What is the edit_users permission in WordPress?
The edit_users permission allows you to edit the accounts of other WordPress users. Those users must have the same user role as you, or a role that is lower in the WordPress user hierarchy.
For the edit_users permission to be effective, you must have the read permission and the list_users permisson. If you do not have those two permissions, you won't be able to access the “Users” menu in the WordPress admin area:
However, read and list_users will not allow you to see other people's accounts. On the main “Users” screen, the only action available for other users is “View”. Actions such as “Edit” and “Delete” are not available.
However, if you have the edit_users permission, you will be able to edit users who are on the same level as you, or lower. In the image below, the user is a “Subscriber”. You can edit users who also have the “Subscriber” role, but not the higher “Administrator” role.
Who has the edit_users permission?
The edit_users permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
By default, the edit_users permission is only given to Super Users, and Administrators.
Users not in these roles are not allowed to edit other users on a WordPress site.
How can you control who has the edit_users permission?
You can control who has the edit_users permission by installing the Capability Manager Enhanced plugin.
- After installing Capability Manager Enhanced, go to Users > Capabilities.
- Check or uncheck the “edit users” box in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area.