User Roles in PublishPress
For larger organizations with many people involved in the publishing process, user roles help keep your workflow organized and keep your users informed.
When you visit the “PublishPress” menu, you’ll see a menu link called “Roles”:
On this new “Roles” screen, you can create new roles and edit existing roles. These are genuine WordPress user roles.
You can add users to roles when you create the roles. Alternatively, you can add these roles to existing users in two places:
- From the main “Users” screen in WordPress.
- From inside each users account editing screen.
It’s worth noting that, unlike default WordPress, PublishPress allows one user to have multiple roles:
Using the roles: Notification Workflows
If you go into the “Notifications” area of PublishPress, you’ll see that your Roles are available in the “Who to notify?” section.
Using the roles: Content Notifications
There is a “Notify” box in the sidebar on the post editor screen. Using a slick search box, you can choose which users and roles are being notified about a post. For example, these users and roles will now get an email whenever an editorial comment is added, or the post is moved to a new status.