What are Private Posts and Pages in WordPress?

Private

“Private” is one of eight post statuses available in WordPress. These statuses control whether WordPress posts are visible to the entire world, waiting for moderation, or sent to the trash to await deletion.

When you write in WordPress, you will most commonly see the Draft, Pending Review and Publish statuses.

The Private status is used less frequently, but it can be useful in some situations. Private posts are for content that you only want high-level users to see. These posts are most useful for internal communication and documentation. I would not recommend storing top-secret information in these posts, but rather want to hide content from regular users.


How to Create Private Posts

Let's start by seeing how to add private posts on your site. This guide is using the Gutenberg. The process will look very similar if you're using the Classic option, or most page-builder plugins.

  • When you are editing a post, look for the “Visibility” area in the right sidebar.
  • Click the “Public” link.
  • Check the “Private” box.
Visibility Link
Visibility Link
  • WordPress will now ask you “Would you like to privately publish this post now?”.
  • Click the “OK” option.
Privately Publish
Privately Publish

This post will now be completely hidden from any user who is not in the Administrator or Editor roles. The only exception to this if the user is marked as the author of a post.

In the WordPress admin area and on the front of your site, Private posts will be completely hidden to other users. They will not even know that Private posts exist.

Administrators and Editors will see a “Private” label attached to the post, as in the image below:

Private Label
Private Label

On the front end of the site, those users will also see the “Private” label.

Private Post
Private Post

Anyone who does not have access will receive a “Page Not Found” message. With the Twenty Twenty-One theme, the message is “Nothing here”. Even if they know the URL of the post, they will see no acknowledgment that the posts exists.

Nothing Here
Nothing Here

Password Protection

When you use the “Private” option in WordPress, you'll also see a “Password Protected” choice. After you check this box, you can enter a password, as in the image below:

Password Entry
Password Entry

On the frontend of your site, users will have to enter a password before they view the content.

Password Protected
Password Protected

The “Private” and “Password Protected” are similar features which is why I included them in this blog post. However, technically they are completely different and the “Password Protected” feature does not use the “Private” status.


Media in Private Posts

Please be careful with the media used in Private posts. WordPress only restricts access to the post. Image and file permissions are treated differently.

Images and files in Private posts can be publicly visible if someone knows the URL. They and can also be found by people with access to your Media Library.

The best solution to this is the PublishPress Permissions Pro plugin that can extend restrictions from posts to media items in that post. You can block URL access and control Media Library access.


The Private Status in the Database

You'll find the “private” status is set in the wp_posts table. The post_status column is used for the status.

Wp Posts Status
Wp Posts Status

If you do password protect your post, it is not technically under the “private status”. A password-protected post will be set to the “publish” status and the password will be stored as plain text in the post_password column.

Password Db
Password Db

If you want more technical background, check out our complete guide to WordPress user permissions in the database.


Who Can See Private Posts

Earlier in this post, I mentioned this briefly, but it's worth repeating here:

  • Administrator and Editors: Can see all the private posts on your site. They can also change the privacy settings for each post.
  • Authors and Contributors: Can see their own private posts and change the privacy settings for their posts. They cannot see private posts created by other users.
  • Other users and guests: They can not even see Private posts.

Change Who Sees Private Posts

It is possible to change who is able see and manage Private posts. The best way to do this with the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.

This image below shows how you can allow users in the “Subscriber” role to read Private posts and pages. This works by giving users the read_private_posts and read_private_pages capabilities. This will not allow them to see Private posts or pages in the WordPress admin area. However, they will be able to read them on the frontend of your site.

Reading Private
Reading Private

Set Your Whole Website to Private

PublishPress Permissions Pro has a feature called Visibility Statuses. This allows you to lock all your content to a specific status.

  • Go to Permissions > Settings.
  • Click the “Editing” tab.
  • Change the default visibility for new content to “Private”.
  • Check the “Lock” box.
Permissions settings

Now you can test out this setting:

  • Create a new post.
  • There will be a “Visiblity” box in the right sidebar. This is part of the Permissions plugin.
  • Click “Publish” when your post is ready.
Private post locked
  • After you have published your post, come back to the editing screen.
  • The “Visiblity” box will be set to “Private” and there will be this message: “Visibility is locked by default settings.”
post visiblity

Teasers for Private Posts

The “Teaser” feature in PublishPress Permissions Pro is useful if you want to give users details about content they are not allowed to see.

This guide will show you how to set up a Teaser. You can use it encourage users to join your site.

  • Go to Permissions > Settings.
  • Check the “Teaser” box and click “Save Changes”.
  • Go to the new “Teaser” tab.
  • Check the “Enable teaser” box in the “Hidden Content Teaser” area.
  • You can choose from different teaser options. In this example, I'm going to choose “fixed teaser”.
Hidden Content Teaser
  • Save your PublishPress Permissions Pro settings.
  • As a logged-out visitor, go to the post that you restricted access to at the beginning of this guide. The best way to do this is by opening a private window in your browser, or opening a new browser. This image below shows what you'll see. The logged-out visitor will see the message “Sorry, you don't have access to this content. Please log in or contact a site administrator for help.”
Fixed Teaser

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress

  • SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER
  • SEARCH THIS SITE