How to Stop WordPress Users from Adding New Gutenberg Blocks

Stop New Blocks

The Gutenberg block editor makes it easy to add and edit content in WordPress.

However, sometimes you want to do just the opposite! Sometimes your content should not be updated.

It is now possible to lock blocks so that they can not be edited. This feature was introduced in WordPress 6.0.

With the PublishPress Capabilities plugin, you can also prevent users from adding new blocks inside the Gutenberg editor. This is very useful for preventing users from updating and adding to your content. To prevent users from adding blocks, we're going to have to remove two icons. I've highlighted both of the icons in this image below:

Remove Add New Block
Remove Add New Block
  • Go to the “Editor Features” screen in PublishPress Capabilities.
  • In the top-left corner, choose the user role you want to edit.
  • Check the “Add block” option. This will remove the add new block icon in the toolbar.
Add Block Stopped Toolbar
Add Block Stopped Toolbar
  • Click the “Add new block” option lower down the screen.
  • Click “Save Post Restrictions”.
Add Block Stopped Screen
Add Block Stopped Screen

Get more control over Gutenberg with PublishPress Capabilities

The PublishPress Capabilities plugin gives you wide variety of options for controlling the Gutenberg editor.

You can hide elements in the Gutenberg with the Editor Features screen. You can also force users to use either Gutenberg or the Classic Editor.

Also in the PublishPress suite of plugins, you can use PublishPress Blocks to hide specific blocks from users.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress

  • SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER
  • SEARCH THIS SITE