What is the promote_users permission in WordPress?
The promote_users permission allows you to change the role of WordPress users. If you have a multisite network, it also allows you to add existing network users to another site.
If you have the promote_users permission (plus some other necessary permissions), you can go to the “Users” screen in WordPress and see the “Change role to…” dropdown:
Warning: this permission should be used with caution. Let me explain why.
If you have those permissions, plus promote_users, you will be able to edit any user … even administrators!
Fortunately, both Capability Manager Enhanced and PressPermit Pro will block this from happening. So unless you want Subscribers to be editing Administrators, I highly recommend installing one of those two plugins if you want to use promote_users. Click here for more details on this security feature.
Who has the promote_users permission?
The promote_users permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.
By default, the promote_users permission is only given to Super Users, and Administrators.
Users not in these roles are not allowed to promote other users on a WordPress site to new roles.
How can you control who has the promote_users permission?
You can control who has the promote_users permission by installing the Capability Manager Enhanced plugin.
- After installing Capability Manager Enhanced, go to Users > Capabilities.
- Check or uncheck the “promote users” box in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area.