Search WordPress Permissions

update_plugins

What is the update_plugins permission in WordPress?

The update_plugins permission allows update WordPress plugins to a more recent release.

The update_plugins permission gives access to the Dashboard > Updates menu link. A user with this permission will also see a red update icon in the left menu and a grey icon in the top menu.

Users with the update_plugins permission will be able to see select plugins and click the “Update Plugins” button:

If the user has the activate_plugins permission, they will also be able to update plugins via the “Plugins” link shown below.


Who has the update_plugins permission?

The update_plugins permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the update_plugins permission is only given to Super Users, and Administrators.

Users not in these roles are not allowed to update plugins.


How can you control who has the update_plugins permission?

You can control who has the update_plugins permission by installing the Capability Manager Enhanced plugin.

The Capability Manager Enhanced plugin for WordPress
  • After installing Capability Manager Enhanced, go to Users > Capabilities.
  • Check or uncheck the “activate plugins” and “update plugins” boxes in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area.

All plugin permissions in WordPress

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress

[i]
[i]