What is the delete_plugins permission in WordPress?
The delete_plugins permission allows you to delete plugins on a WordPress site.
However, the delete_plugins permission can not be used by itself. Before you can delete plugins you also need the activate_plugins permission. With both of those permissions, you can go to the “Plugins” screen and use the “Delete” button. Plugins must be deactivated before they can be deleted.
Who has the delete_plugins permission?
By default, the delete_plugins permission is only given to Super Admins and Administrators.
Users not in these roles are not allowed to delete plugins.
How can you control who has the delete_plugins permission?
You can control who has the delete_plugins permission by installing the Capability Manager Enhanced plugin.
- After installing Capability Manager Enhanced, go to Users > Capabilities.
- Check or uncheck the “delete plugins” and “activate plugins” boxes in the “Other WordPress Core Capabilities” area: