Search WordPress Permissions

delete_others_posts

What is the delete_others_posts permission in WordPress?

The delete_others_posts permission allows you to delete Posts that are written by other authors.

If you have the delete_others_posts permission, you will see the red “Trash” link under Posts written by other users.

If you have the delete_others_posts permission, you will also see a “Move to Trash” button when editing Posts written by other users:


Who has the delete_others_posts permission?

The delete_others_posts permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_others_posts permission is only given to Super Users, Administrators and Editors.

Users not in these roles are not allowed to delete Posts written by other users.


How to control who has the delete_others_posts permission

You can control who has the delete_others_posts permission by installing the Capability Manager Enhanced plugin.

The Capability Manager Enhanced plugin for WordPress
  • After installing Capability Manager Enhanced, go to Users > Capabilities.
  • Check or uncheck the box in the “Posts” row of the “Delete others” column.

Professional publishing plugins for WordPress! Get PublishPress

[i]
[i]