---
title: The Roles Screen
description: "[PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) has a feature called \"Roles\". This screen allows you to see all the user roles available on your site. You can also create new roles and delete some roles. ![Roles Screen in PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/roles-screen-1024x497.png) Roles Screen --- ##…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/the-roles-screen/"
updated: "2026-10-15"
category: PublishPress Capabilities / Roles
---

# The Roles Screen

[PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) has a feature called "Roles". This screen allows you to see all the user roles available on your site. You can also create new roles and delete some roles.

![Roles Screen in PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/roles-screen-1024x497.png)
Roles Screen

---

## Add a New User Role

On the top of the screen, you can click "Add New" and create new user roles for your site.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/Create-new-role-1024x332.png)
Create New Role

---

## Delete User Roles

You can use the Roles screen to delete any user role, except for the default roles: Administrator, Author, Contributor, Editor and Subscriber.

If you delete a user role, any users in the role will be automatically added to the default role which is normally Subscriber.

![Delete Role](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/delete-role-1024x359.png)
Delete Role
