---
title: remove_users
description: "## What is the remove_users permission in WordPress? The remove_users permission is almost identical to the [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-users/) permission except it has some extra multisite functionality. Please read the [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-users/) article for details on how this works for single sites. The…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/remove_users/"
updated: "2026-10-14"
category: WordPress Permissions / WordPress Permissions
---

# remove_users

## What is the remove_users permission in WordPress?

The remove_users permission is almost identical to the [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-users/) permission except it has some extra multisite functionality.

Please read the [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-users/) article for details on how this works for single sites.

The only difference between the two permissions is on a multisite network:

- [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/links/delete-users) applies to the whole network and allow [Super Admins](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin) to delete users from all sites.
- remove_users applies to single sites in the networks and allows Administrators to remove users from that site only.

This screenshot shows how users are deleted from a multisite network, using the [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/links/delete-users) permission. Notice that the word used is "Delete":

![Screen Shot 2020 10 14 At 3.45.43 Pm](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/Screen-Shot-2020-10-14-at-3.45.43-PM-1024x338.png)
Screen Shot 2020 10 14 At 3.45.43 Pm

This screenshot shows how users are removed from a single network site, using the remove_users permission. Notice that the word used is "Remove":

![Remove Users](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/remove-users.png)
Remove Users

---

## Who has the **remove_users** permission?

The remove_users permission is available on single WordPress sites that are part of a multisite network.

By default, the remove_users permission is only given to Super Users, and Administrators.

Users not in these roles are not allowed to remove user accounts on a WordPress site.

---

## How can you control who has the remove_users permission?

You can control who has the remove_users permission by installing the [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) plugin.

- After installing [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities), go "Capabilities" in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Click the "Users" tab.
- Check or uncheck the "remove users" box.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/remove-users-1024x495.png)
Remove Users Box

---

## All the WordPress user permissions

- [create_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/create_users/)
- [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-users/)
- [edit_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit-users/)
- [list_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/list_users/)
- [promote_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/promote_users/)
- [remove_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/remove_users/)
