Understanding Permissions in PublishPress Revisions
The Default Permissions
PublishPress Revisions automatically provides revision permissions for the default WordPress users roles:
- Users in the “Subscriber” role are not able to submit revisions.
- Users in the “Contributor” role can submit revisions to their own published posts, but they will not be able to publish them.
- Users in the “Author” role can publish their own revisions immediately.
- Users in the “Editor” and “Administrator” roles are able to publish revisions for any post. These users are also ideally placed to act as moderators for revisions submitted by other users. They can get email notifications for new revisions.
However, PublishPress Revisions does add one new role called “Revisor”.
Permissions for the Revisor role
The “Revisor” role is almost identical to the “Editor” role, except when a Revisor edits a published post, those changes are held for moderation. In contrast, users in the “Editor” role can publish their changes without moderation. Click here to see what an Editor can do.
When a Revisor logs into WordPress and edits a post, all they will see is the “Submit Revision” button, as in the image below:
When the Revisor clicks this button, they’ll see this message: “Your modification has been saved for editorial review.”
The Revisor can keep on submitting new revisions but they will never be able to publish them. They will have to wait for a higher level user to login and publish the revision.