---
title: erase_others_personal_data
description: "## What is the erase_others_personal_data permission in WordPress? The erase_others_personal_data permission controls access to a menu link inside WordPress: - Tools > Erase Personal Data: ![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/export-personal-data.png) Users with the erase_others_personal_data will be able to see the \"[Erase Personal Data](https://codex.wordpress.org/Tools_Erase_Personal_Data_Screen)\" screen.…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/erase-others-personal-data/"
updated: "2026-10-14"
category: WordPress Permissions / WordPress Permissions
---

# erase_others_personal_data

## What is the erase_others_personal_data permission in WordPress?

The erase_others_personal_data permission controls access to a menu link inside WordPress:

- Tools > Erase Personal Data:

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/export-personal-data.png)

Users with the erase_others_personal_data will be able to see the "[Erase Personal Data](https://codex.wordpress.org/Tools_Erase_Personal_Data_Screen)" screen. This screen allows you to delete a user's personal data. The eleted data is permanently removed from the database.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/erase-personal-data-1024x445.png)

Note: the erase_others_personal_data permission can not work by itself. The user will also need the [manage_options](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/manage_options/) permission and the [delete_users](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-users/)permission.

---

## Who has the erase_others_personal_data permission?

By default, the erase_others_personal_data permission is only given to [Super Admins](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin) and Administrators.

Users not in these roles are not allowed to erase users' personal data.

---

## How can you control who has the erase_others_personal_data permission?

The erase_others_personal_data permission is not active by default on WordPress sites. You will need to enable the permission before assigning it to user roles.

You can control who has the erase_others_personal_data permission by installing[the PublishPress Capabilities plugin.](https://publishpress.com/capability-manager/)

- After installing [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities), go to "Capabilities" in your admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- In the "Add Capability" box, enter erase_others_personal_data.
- Click "Add to role".

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/erase-personal-data-add-role.png)

- Click the "Additional" tab.
- Check or uncheck the "erase others personal data" box.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/erase_others_personal_data-1024x358.png)

---

## All the privacy permissions in WordPress

- [manage_privacy_options](https://publishpress.com/docs/manage-privacy-options/)
- [export_others_personal_data](https://publishpress.com/docs/export-others-personal-data/)
- [erase_others_personal_data](https://publishpress.com/docs/erase-others-personal-data/)
