---
title: delete_published_posts
description: "## What is the delete_published_posts permission in WordPress? The delete_published_posts permission allows users to delete Posts in the [Publish / Published](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/publish/) status. If users have the delete_published_posts permission, they will see the red \"Trash\" link under Posts in the [Publish…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_published_posts/"
updated: "2026-10-14"
category: WordPress Permissions / WordPress Permissions
---

# delete_published_posts

## What is the delete_published_posts permission in WordPress?

The delete_published_posts permission allows users to delete Posts in the [Publish / Published](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/publish/) status.

If users have the delete_published_posts permission, they will see the red "Trash" link under Posts in the [Publish / Published](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/publish/) status.

![Trash Post](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/trash-post-1024x397.png)
Trash Post

If users do NOT have the delete_published_posts permission, they will not be able to send a Post to the Trash, even if they have the [delete_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_posts/) permission. This screenshot below shows a Published post and a [Pending Review](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/pending-review/) post. Only the Pending Review post has a "Trash" button available.

![Delete Published Vs Pending 1](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/delete-published-vs-pending-1.png)
Delete Published Vs Pending 1

Users with the delete_published_posts permission will also see a "Move to Trash" button when editing Posts. Users who do not have the delete_published_posts permission will not see this button.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/move-to-trash-button.png)

---

## Who has the delete_published_posts permission?

The delete_published_posts permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_published_posts permission is given to [Super Admins](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin), Administrators, and Editors.

Subscribers and Contributors can not delete published Posts.

---

## How to control who has the delete_published_posts permission

You can control who has the delete_published_posts permission by installing the [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) plugin.

- After installing [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities), go to "Capabilities" in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Click the "Deletion" tab.
- Check or uncheck the box in the "Posts" row of the "Delete published" column.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/delete-published-posts-1024x396.png)
Delete Published Posts

---

## All the WordPress permissions for Posts

- [delete_others_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-others-posts/)
- [delete_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_posts/)
- [delete_private_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_private_posts/)
- [edit_others_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_others_posts/)
- [edit_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_posts/)
- [edit_private_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_private_posts/)
- [edit_published_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_published_posts/)
- [read_private_posts](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/read_private_posts/)
