---
title: delete_published_pages
description: "## What is the delete_published_pages permission in WordPress? The delete_published_pages permission allows users to delete Pages in the [Publish / Published](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/publish/) status. If users have the delete_published_pages permission, they will see the red \"Trash\" link under Pages in the [Publish…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_published_pages/"
updated: "2026-10-14"
category: WordPress Permissions / WordPress Permissions
---

# delete_published_pages

## What is the delete_published_pages permission in WordPress?

The delete_published_pages permission allows users to delete Pages in the [Publish / Published](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/publish/) status.

If users have the delete_published_pages permission, they will see the red "Trash" link under Pages in the [Publish / Published](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/publish/) status.

![Trash Post](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/trash-post-1024x397.png)
Trash Post

If users do NOT have the delete_published_pages permission, they will not be able to send a Page to the Trash, even if they have the [delete_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-pages/) permission. This screenshot below shows a Published Page and a [Pending Review](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/pending-review/) Page. Only the Pending Review Page has a "Trash" button available.

![Published Page Vs Pending 1](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/published-page-vs-pending-1.png)
Published Page Vs Pending 1

Users with the delete_published_pages permission will also see a "Move to Trash" button when editing Pages. Users who do not have the delete_published_pages permission will not see this button.

![Move Trash Page](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/move-trash-page.png)
Move Trash Page

---

## Who has the delete_published_pages permission?

The delete_published_pages permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_published_pages permission is given to [Super Admins](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin), Administrators, and Editors.

Subscribers and Contributors can not delete published Pages.

---

## How to control who has the delete_published_pages permission

You can control who has the delete_published_pages permission by installing the [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) plugin.

- After installing [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities), go to "Capabilities" in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Click the "Deletion" tab.
- Check or uncheck the box in the "Pages" row of the "Delete published" column.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/delete-published-pages-1024x396.png)
Delete Published Pages

---

## All the WordPress permissions for Pages

- [delete_others_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_others_pages/)
- [delete_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-pages/)
- [delete_private_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_private_pages/)
- [delete_published_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_published_pages/)
- [edit_others_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_others_pages/)
- [edit_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_pages/)
- [edit_private_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_private_pages/)
- [edit_published_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_published_pages/)
- read_published_pages
