---
title: delete_private_pages
description: "## What is the delete_private_pages permission in WordPress? The delete_private_pages permission allows users to delete Pages written by any WordPress user, if they are in the [Private](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/private/) status. If users have the delete_private_pages permission, they will see the red \"Trash\"…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_private_pages/"
updated: "2026-10-14"
category: WordPress Permissions / WordPress Permissions
---

# delete_private_pages

## What is the delete_private_pages permission in WordPress?

The delete_private_pages permission allows users to delete Pages written by any WordPress user, if they are in the [Private](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/private/) status.

If users have the delete_private_pages permission, they will see the red "Trash" link under Pages in the Private status. This includes Pages where they are the author and also Pages where another user is the author.

![Delete Private Page](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/delete-private-page.png)
Delete Private Page

Users with the delete_private_pages permission will also see a "Move to Trash" button when editing private Pages:

![Move To Trash Private Page](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/move-to-trash-private-page.png)
Move To Trash Private Page

---

## Who has the delete_private_pages permission?

The delete_private_pages permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_private_pages permission is given to [Super Admins](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin), Administrators, and Editors.

Subscribers and Contributors can not delete private Pages.

---

## How to control who has the delete_private_pages permission

You can control who has the delete_private_pages permission by installing the [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) plugin.

- After installing [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities), go to "Capabilities" in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Click the "Deletion" tab.
- Check or uncheck the box in the "Pages" row of the "Delete private" column.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/delete-private-pages-1024x421.png)

---

## All the WordPress permissions for Pages

- [delete_others_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_others_pages/)
- [delete_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-pages/)
- [delete_private_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_private_pages/)
- [delete_published_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_published_pages/)
- [edit_others_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_others_pages/)
- [edit_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_pages/)
- [edit_private_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_private_pages/)
- [edit_published_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_published_pages/)
- read_published_pages
