---
title: delete_others_pages
description: "## What is the delete_others_pages permission in WordPress? The delete_others_pages permission allows users to delete Pages written by other WordPress users. If users have the delete_others_pages permission, they will see the red \"Trash\" link under Pages written by any other…"
url: "https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_others_pages/"
updated: "2026-10-14"
category: WordPress Permissions / WordPress Permissions
---

# delete_others_pages

## What is the delete_others_pages permission in WordPress?

The delete_others_pages permission allows users to delete Pages written by other WordPress users.

If users have the delete_others_pages permission, they will see the red "Trash" link under Pages written by any other user.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/pages-trash-link.png)

However, if a user does NOT have the delete_others_pages permission, this "Trash" link will be missing for pages written by other users. You can see an example in the screenshot below:

![No Trash Link](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/no-trash-link.png)
No Trash Link

Users with the delete_others_pages permission will also see a "Move to Trash" button when editing Pages. Users without the delete_others_pages permission will NOT see this button, even if they can edit the Page.

![Move Trash Page](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/move-trash-page.png)
Move Trash Page

---

## Who has the delete_others_pages permission?

The delete_others_pages permission is available on single WordPress sites and on multisite networks.

By default, the delete_others_pages permission is given to [Super Admins](https://publishpress.com/links/super-admin), Administrators, and Editors.

Subscribers and Contributors can not delete Pages written by other users.

---

## How to control who has the delete_others_pages permission

You can control who has the delete_others_pages permission by installing the [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities) plugin.

- After installing [PublishPress Capabilities](https://publishpress.com/links/capabilities), go to "Capabilities" in your WordPress admin menu.
- Using the dropdown in the top-left corner, choose the role you want to edit.
- Click the "Deletion" tab.
- Check or uncheck the box in the "Pages" row of the "Delete others" column.

![](https://publishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/delete-others-pages-1024x450.png)
Delete Others Pages Box

---

## All the WordPress permissions for Pages

- [delete_others_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_others_pages/)
- [delete_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete-pages/)
- [delete_private_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_private_pages/)
- [delete_published_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/delete_published_pages/)
- [edit_others_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_others_pages/)
- [edit_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_pages/)
- [edit_private_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_private_pages/)
- [edit_published_pages](https://publishpress.com/knowledge-base/edit_published_pages/)
- read_published_pages
